Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label Transport

Aircraft Industry in India

The first aircraft in India was set up at Bangalore in 1940 under the name of Hindustan Aircraft Ltd it was a private company and was taken over by the government in 1942. Later on, it was merged into Aeronautics India Limited in 1964 to form Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. ( HAL ), Bangalore. Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd has 12 divisions with 19 production units across 7 locations in the country. The main divisions of HAL where various parts of aircraft are produced: Nasik division: In Nasik division MIG airframe is manufactured. Koraput division: In Koraput division the engine for MIG aircraft is manufactured. Hyderabad division: In Hyderabad division electronic equipment for MIG is manufactured. Kanpur division: In Kanpur division transport aircraft are manufactured. Lucknow division: In luck division equipments and accessories for the aircraft are manufactured. Bangalore division: In Bangalore division research and development activities are carried out. The aircra

Shipping Industry in India

The first ship building factory in India was established at Visakhapatnam in 1941. It was later, adopted by the Indian Government in 1952 and named as ' Hindustan Shipyard Limited '. The major ship building centers in India are located at Kolkata, Goa, Mumbai and Kochi. The Kochi, Dockyard was developed by collaboration with Japan. The Kochi Dockyard is the largest and the most recent dockyard of the country whereas the Mazagaon dockyard (Mumbai) builds the navel ships for Indian Navy. India is one of the main maritime nations of the world with 6.8 million Gross Registered Tonnage rating, with 17 th position in the world. The Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) under Ministry of Shipping in India are: 1. Shipping Corporation of India, Mumbai This PSU was established on October 2, 1961. Website: 2. Hindustan Shipyard Ltd., Visakhapatnam The foundation stone of HSL was laid on June 22, 1941 by Dr. Rajendra Prasad. This PSU is engaged in shipbuildin

Railway Engineering Industries and Institutes in India

Indian Railway is fully independent in the matter of building all its equipment. The industry is based on railway equipment was established as Peninsular Locomotive company at Singhbhum district of Jharkhand in 1921. Later, it was named as "Tata Engineering and Locomotive Company' (TELCO). Some of the railway production units in India are: Chittaranjan Locomotive Works ( CLW ), Chittaranjan: Steam locomotives & electric locomotives. Diesel Locomotive Works ( DLW ), Varanasi: Diesel locomotives. Wheel Axle Plant (WAP), Bangalore: Wheel Axle Plant. Diesel Loco Modernisation Works ( DMW ), Patiala: Diesel components & parts. Rail Coach Factory ( RCF ), Kapurthala, Punjab:  Rail coaches. Integral Coach Factory ( ICF ), Chennai: Coaching stock. Bharat Earth Movers Ltd., Bangalore : Rail coaches for Delhi Metro Rail corporation. Durgapur & Yelahanka: Wheel Axle Plant. Tatanagar: Meter gauge steam locomotives. Bhilai: Rail and sleeper cars. Perambur

Rail Transport in India

The first passenger train in India was started by Lord Dalhousie, Governor-General of India on April 16, 1853, between Bori Bunder, Bombay, and Thane covering a distance of 34 km. Indian Railway was nationalised in 1951 and presently, it is the largest Railway Network in Asia and the second largest railway network in the World. There are three types of rail lines in India: Broad Gauge (1676 mm) Meter Gauge (1000 mm) Narrow Gauge (762 mm) In 2015, Indian Railway consists of 108,706 km route comprising Broad Gauge (88,547 km), Meter Gauge (16,489 km) and Narrow Gauge (3450 km). The total number of Railway Zones in India is 16 and the largest Railway Zone is North Zone . Progress of Locomotives in India 1893: First railway foundry was set up at Jamalpur (Bihar). 1895:  The first locomotive was built with old pairs at Ajmer workshop. 1899: Lady Curzon was the first locomotive built in India, at Ajmer. January 26, 1950: Chittaranjan Locomotive Works (CL