Skip to main content

Sport Awards in India

Arjuna Awards:

  • The Arjuna Awards were established instituted in 1961.
  • To be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should have had not only good performance consistently for the previous three years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended but also should have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and sense of discipline.
  • The Award consists of a statuette, a scroll of honor, ceremonial dress and a Cash Award of Rs. 5.00 lakh will be presented to the winners in a function to be held at a place and on a date to be decided by the Government of India.
  • No Award will be made for a second time to the same person.
  • From the year 2001, the award is given only in disciplines falling under the following categories:
    1. Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Discipline and Cricket
    2. Indigenous Games
    3. Sports for the Physically Challenged.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award:

  • Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award formerly known as the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in Sports and Games. Prime Minister Narendra Modi renames Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award after Dhyan Chand, legendary Hockey player.
  • Khel Ratna award was instituted in the year 191-92 to supply the lack of a supreme national accolade in the field of sports. The Arjuna awards, which predate the Khel Ratna  Award.
  • A selection committee consisting of eminent people affiliated with sports is constituted every year by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports to evaluate sporting performances. Usually, performance between April 1st of one year to March 31st of the next year is considered.
  • The spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson in a year shall be honored with the Khel Ratna Award for excellence in Sports & games at the international level i.e. Olympic/Asian/Commonwealth/World Games/Championships/World Cup or any equivalent recognized international tournament.
  • A person can receive this award only once in his lifetime and must be nominated for the award by a Member of Parliament, State Governments, the Sports Authority of India or national sports federations. The committee makes a recommendation to the ministry and after this is vetted at various levels in the government, the nominee is invested with the award by the President of India. the awardee is given a cash prize of 25lakh.


Popular posts from this blog

How to identify Calculator is Programmable or Non-Programmable Calculator ?

Some competitive examinations allow the use of a calculator but may permit to use of only a calculator of the non-programmable type. Calculators that are NOT programmable: This is what a non-programmable calculator looks like. List of non-programmable calculators of some famous brands like  Casio , Sharp , Texas Instruments , Hawlett Packard . Calculators that are programmable: Programmable calculators can automatically carry out a sequence of operations under the control of a stored program, much like a computer. Examples of the programmable calculator are at the top picture. These calculators runs on a Computer Algebra System (CAS). A CAS helps to make certain difficult algebraic functions automatic and less tedious. As you can see, these calculators also have graphing capabilities. A calculator with graphing capabilities is most likely to be programmable. The easy way to tell if the calculator has graphing capabilities is by looking at the larger screen than would

Flood and Drought Affected Areas in India

In India, the regional and seasonal distribution of rainfall is uneven. On the one hand, Jaislamer receives less than 9 cm of annual rainfall and on the other hand, Mawsynram, near Cherapunji, receives more than 1140 cm of annual rainfall. Similarly, most of the rainfall in India is received in the months of June, July, August and September. Generally, variations in the amount of rainfall are found more in the regions where the rainfall is uneven and less and these regions are more affected by droughts. Droughts Drought is an abnormally long dry season, which creates a clear imbalance in the availability of water. both, the vagaries of monsoon and dominant factor, which cause drought and drought like conditions. The irrigation commission, on the basis of the amount of rainfall and its variability, has divided the drought affected areas into two types: Drought Areas: Drought areas have annual rainfall less than 50 cm and variability is more than 25%. Under these areas are in

The Advent of European Companies in India

In 1453, land routes were blocked by Ottoman Turks. So, new sea routes discovered by the Europeans to promote their business. Colombus of Spain discovered America where as in 1498, Vasco-da-Gama of Portugal discovered India. He came to India via Cape of Good Hope (Africa). First of all, Vasco-da-Gama reached to Calicut (Kerla or Kozhicode) where Zamorin ruler welcomed his arrival. The Portugese soon established political power along the west coast of India. he was succeeded by Captain General Alfonso de Albuquerque who conquered Goa in 1510. Sequence of Arrivals:- Company Year H.Q./Capital Potugese East Indian company (Formed by Vasco-da-Gama) 1498 Cochin (1510-30), Goa (1530-1961) Dutch East India Company 1602 East coast; Coromandal, Pulicut, Bengal English East India Company 1608 West coast: Surat, Bombay east coast: Coromandal, Masulipatanam, Madras. French East India Company (Formed by Colbert) 1664 Surat (1668-73), Pondi