Skip to main content

Ministry of Culture (India)

The Ministry of Culture is the Indian government ministry charged with preservation and promotion of art and culture in India.

Lalit Kala Akademi

  • Lalit Kala Akademi was established at New Delhi in 1954 to promote and propagate undertakings of Indian Art within and outside the country.
  • The akademi has regional centres called Rashtriya Lalit Kala Kendras at Lucknow, Kolkata, Chennai, Garhi in New Delhi and Bhubaneshwar with workshop facilities in painting, sculpture, print making and ceramics.

Sangeet Natak Akademi

  • India's national academy for music, dance and drama is the first National Academy of the arts set-up by the republic of India. It was created by a resolution of the Ministry of Education, Government of India notified in the Gazette of India on June 1952. The akademi became functional in 1953. Dr P.V. Rajamannar was appointed as its first chairman.
  • In 1961, the Sangeeth Natak Akademi was reconstituted by the government as a society and registered under the Societies Registration Act of 1860. it is apex body specialization in the performing arts of the country.
  • The UNESCO declared Kuttiyattam Sanskrit Theatre of Kerla as a Master piece of oral and intangible Heritage of Humanity in May 2001.
  • Lalgudi G. Jayaraman, Shree Ram Lagoo, Yamini Krishnamurthy, Kamlesh Dutt Tripathi, Pandit Jasraj and Kishori Amonkar were chosen as the Fellows of Akademi for 2009.

National School of Drama

  • National School of Drama was set up by Sangeet Natak Akademi in 1959. Later in 1975 it became an autonomous organization, totally finance by ministry of culture.
  • Only 20 students are admitted to the course every year.
  • The first ever National Theatre Festival christened Bharat Rang Mahotsav was held from March to April 14, 1999.

Shahitya Akademi

  • Shahitya Akademi is 'The Indian National Academy of letters', meant to promote the cause of Indian Literature.
  • It was founded in March 1954 as an autonomous body fully funded by the Department of Culture.
  • Shahitya Academy has recognised 24 languages.
  • In 2004-05, Academy has celebrated its Golden Jubilee.
  • The highest honour conferred by the Academy.
  • Institute of Historical Research is situated at Kolkata.
  • Anita Desai (English Novelist), Ravindra Kelekar (Konkani Writer) and Kartar singh Duggai (Punjabi Writer) were awarded Sahitya Akademi Fellowship for 2007.

Zonal Cultural Centers in India

  1. North Central Zone Cultural Centre, Allahabad
  2. North East Zone Cultural Centre, Dimapur
  3. South Central Zone Cultural Centre, Nagpur
  4. South Central Zone Cultural Centre, Thanjavur
  5. West Zone Cultural Centre, Udaipur
  6. North Zone Cultural Centre, Paitala
  7. East Zone Cultural Centre, Kolkata

Official Web address of Ministry of Culture (India) :


Popular posts from this blog

How to identify Calculator is Programmable or Non-Programmable Calculator ?

Some competitive examinations allow the use of a calculator but may permit to use of only a calculator of the non-programmable type. Calculators that are NOT programmable: This is what a non-programmable calculator looks like. List of non-programmable calculators of some famous brands like  Casio , Sharp , Texas Instruments , Hawlett Packard . Calculators that are programmable: Programmable calculators can automatically carry out a sequence of operations under the control of a stored program, much like a computer. Examples of the programmable calculator are at the top picture. These calculators runs on a Computer Algebra System (CAS). A CAS helps to make certain difficult algebraic functions automatic and less tedious. As you can see, these calculators also have graphing capabilities. A calculator with graphing capabilities is most likely to be programmable. The easy way to tell if the calculator has graphing capabilities is by looking at the larger screen than would

Flood and Drought Affected Areas in India

In India, the regional and seasonal distribution of rainfall is uneven. On the one hand, Jaislamer receives less than 9 cm of annual rainfall and on the other hand, Mawsynram, near Cherapunji, receives more than 1140 cm of annual rainfall. Similarly, most of the rainfall in India is received in the months of June, July, August and September. Generally, variations in the amount of rainfall are found more in the regions where the rainfall is uneven and less and these regions are more affected by droughts. Droughts Drought is an abnormally long dry season, which creates a clear imbalance in the availability of water. both, the vagaries of monsoon and dominant factor, which cause drought and drought like conditions. The irrigation commission, on the basis of the amount of rainfall and its variability, has divided the drought affected areas into two types: Drought Areas: Drought areas have annual rainfall less than 50 cm and variability is more than 25%. Under these areas are in

The Advent of European Companies in India

In 1453, land routes were blocked by Ottoman Turks. So, new sea routes discovered by the Europeans to promote their business. Colombus of Spain discovered America where as in 1498, Vasco-da-Gama of Portugal discovered India. He came to India via Cape of Good Hope (Africa). First of all, Vasco-da-Gama reached to Calicut (Kerla or Kozhicode) where Zamorin ruler welcomed his arrival. The Portugese soon established political power along the west coast of India. he was succeeded by Captain General Alfonso de Albuquerque who conquered Goa in 1510. Sequence of Arrivals:- Company Year H.Q./Capital Potugese East Indian company (Formed by Vasco-da-Gama) 1498 Cochin (1510-30), Goa (1530-1961) Dutch East India Company 1602 East coast; Coromandal, Pulicut, Bengal English East India Company 1608 West coast: Surat, Bombay east coast: Coromandal, Masulipatanam, Madras. French East India Company (Formed by Colbert) 1664 Surat (1668-73), Pondi